Make Your Python Life Easier With Icecream

Make Your Python Life Easier With Icecream

I often confused about what I was printing when I debug in Python.

Example:

str1 = "Apple"
str2 = "Orange"

print(str1)
print(str2)

The output would be:

Apple
Orange

It is not easy to tell what variable I am printing. Well, it is in the above simple example but not in a real program where you would use many variables. I could manually write the name of each variable inside print() but it is not efficient.

I wondered if there is a better way in this situation and bumped into Icecream, a useful Python library for debugging.

Install command:

pip install icecream

So let's use it in the above example:

from icecream import ic

str1 = "Apple"
str2 = "Orange"

ic(str1)
ic(str2)

Output:

ic| str1: 'Apple'
ic| str2: 'Orange'

Icecream prints a variable name along with its value. This made my Python life much easier. Use Icecream and cut your time in debugging!